#### MINUTES REORGANIZATION MEETING DECEMBER 6, 2021

The Board of Education of the Wilkes-Barre Area School District held a Reorganization Meeting on Monday, December 6, 2021. President Joseph A. Caffrey called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m. and announced that the Board is meeting this day for the purpose of reorganization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania, as amended.

Superintendent Brian Costello led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Assistant Board Secretary Suzanne Saporito called the roll:

# 6 members present: Atherton, Evans, Harris, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey 2 members absent: Quinn, Schiowitz

President Caffrey opened nominations for a Temporary President.

**Rev. Walker moved** to nominate **Denise Thomas as Temporary President** for the purpose of reorganization. There were no further nominations.

Rev. Walker moved to close the nominations seconded by Ms. Harris.

All in favor to close nominations for Temporary President - 6 Ayes

The Viva-Voce vote for Temporary President for the purpose of Reorganization was as follows:

Atherton:	Denise Thomas
Evans:	Denise Thomas
Harris:	Denise Thomas
Thomas:	Denise Thomas
Walker:	Denise Thomas
Caffrey:	Denise Thomas

At this time District Magistrate Joseph Spagnuolo administered the Oath of Office to the recently elected Board Members: Joseph A. Caffrey, Ned J. Evans, Dr. James Susek and Denise T. Thomas.

Temporary President Denise Thomas opened nominations for President for the ensuing year.

**Ms. Thomas moved** to nominate **Joseph Caffrey** for President. There were no further nominations.

**Mr. Atherton motioned**, **seconded by Ms. Harris** to close the nominations for President. All in favor to close nominations for President – **7 Ayes** 

The Viva-Voce vote for President for the ensuing year was as follows:

Atherton:	Joseph Caffrey
Evans:	Joseph Caffrey
Harris:	Joseph Caffrey
Susek:	Joseph Caffrey
Thomas:	Joseph Caffrey

Walker: Joseph Caffrey Caffrey: Joseph Caffrey

## Joseph Caffrey was elected Board President for the 2022 school year.

President Caffrey thanked the Board for the vote of confidence and stated he is humbled and honored to serve as the Board President for the ensuing year.

President Caffrey opened nominations for Vice President for the ensuing year.

**Rev. Walker** moved to nominate **Denise Thomas** for Vice President. There were no further nominations.

**Rev. Walker moved, seconded by Dr. Susek** to close the nominations for Vice President. All in favor of closing nominations for Vice President – **7 Ayes** 

The Viva-Voce vote for Vice President was as follows:

Denise Thomas
Denise Thomas

## Denise Thomas was elected Vice President for the ensuing year.

**Ms. Thomas moved, seconded by Ms. Harris** that all meetings be conducted in accordance with the rules set forth in the Reorganization Meeting of December 2, 1981, as amended December 2, 1999 and March 10, 2010 including Order of Business.

The vote was as follows: All in favor – 7 Ayes

**Mr. Atherton moved, seconded by Mr. Evans** to appoint **Denise Thomas** as the PSBA Legislative Chairperson who will serve as the District's contact for PSBA's governmental relations efforts as well as to participate in county-level Legislative Action meetings with members of the General Assembly and to be the Section 4 Local Board Liaison.

The vote was as follows: All in favor – 7 Ayes

**Mr. Evans moved, seconded by Ms. Thomas** that the Board Meetings be held on the second Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

The vote was as follows: All in favor – 7 Ayes **Mr. Evans moved, seconded by Rev. Walker** that the officers of the Board be authorized to draw orders for payrolls and for payment of bonds, interest, utilities and other pertinent bills as they come due.

# The vote was as follows: 7 Ayes – Atherton, Evans, Harris, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey

## **Rev. Walker presented Resolution #1**

# **RESOLUTION #1**

WHEREAS, **Melissa Patla** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, her term of office expires in December 2022; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoint **Theresa Schiowitz** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December 2022.

## Rev. Walker moved to adopt this Resolution. All in favor – 7 Ayes

# Ms. Thomas presented Resolution #2

## **RESOLUTION #2**

WHEREAS, **Ned J. Evans** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, his term of office expires in December 2021; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoint **Ned J. Evans** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December 2024.

#### Ms. Thomas moved to adopt this Resolution. All in favor – 7 Ayes

# Mr. Atherton presented Resolution #3

# **RESOLUTION #3**

WHEREAS, **Beth Anne Harris** has served the Wilkes-Barre Area School District as a member of the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center; and

WHEREAS, her term of office expires in December 2021; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Wilkes-Barre Area Board of School Directors appoint **Beth Anne Harris** to represent the Wilkes-Barre Area School District on the Joint Operating Committee of the Wilkes-Barre Area Career and Technical Center which term is to expire in December 2024.

Mr. Atherton moved to adopt this Resolution. All in favor – 7 Ayes

#### Mr. Evans presented Resolution #4

## **RESOLUTION #4**

BE IT RESOLVED, that **Suzanne Saporito** be appointed Assistant Secretary of the Board of Education to serve until the Reorganization Meeting of December 2022, under the provisions of Section 434 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended.

AND, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Assistant Secretary be bonded, and premium for such bond to be paid by the School District.

Mr. Evans moved to adopt this Resolution. The vote was as follows: 7 Ayes – Atherton, Evans, Harris, Susek, Thomas, Walker, Caffrey

Rev. Walker made a motion to adjourn at 6:18 p.m. seconded by Dr. Susek. All in favor – 7 Ayes